Roommates

If you’ve ever watched New Girl, I would have to say I am like Schmidt when you mess with the eco-system.  I get physically ill.  Every time I have moved into a new place, it takes me about 2 weeks to get adjusted.  During this time, my sleep is disrupted and I have an upset tummy.  Well, I have lived in my current place for 3 years now.  Everything has been going well, my roommates and I had our routines down and our schedules didn’t collide.

 

Last week, I was informed by my roommate (also my landlord – it’s his house), that another roommate will be joining us.  I have met him before, and he’s a nice guy.  But, I immediately went into panic mode because that now meant there are 3 of us sharing a bathroom (landlord gets his own bathroom).  He told my other roommate that bathroom sharing wouldn’t be a problem because the new guy goes into work at 10am (I go into work at 8:30am), but the new guy told me he goes into the bathroom around 8am, which collides with me, because I go in between 7:45 and 8am depending how long I sleep in, and the other roommate that has lived there goes in right after I do.

 

He moved in on Sunday.  Ever since then, my stomach has been a wreck.  My schedule is all off, and I feel like this guy never sleeps.  I’m a night owl, so I’m usually awake until about 1am, and he is also awake.  When I wake up in the morning, he is already awake.  I’m almost certain he has the same Mon-Fri schedule as I do; the other two roommates work on weekends, so I am used to having the weekends to myself, which is actually really nice.  Now, I’m worried I won’t have that to look forward to any more.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I have been blessed with awesome roommates.  The two that I lived with before the new guy moved in, we’ve been friends since about 2008, so it’s been real comfortable.  There is no awkwardness or tension (usually).  The roommate I had prior to them when I lived elsewhere was also a really good roommate.  As with any roommate, yes there are some differences and sometimes they do get on your nerves, but it could be A LOT worse.  So, I’m grateful for that.  I just hope my body gets adjusted to this new change quickly and that things don’t get too complicated.

Leave a comment